Beeston Rylands Community

the website for Rylands people

Anna Soubry……..Newsletter

Leave a comment

Hello again,

Just a few matters – there’s some potentially very good news for all small businesses in Beeston struggling with the tram works, but we now need  Notts County Council to give their support.
My thanks to everyone who came to last week’s “drop in” surgery in the Rylands. I will be holding more across the constituency – next week the team and I will be outside Sainsbury’s in Kimberley.
Finally, if you saw Question Time on Thursday you will know I am a lot better!  Thank you for all the get well messages.  Being  ‘laid up’ means I have quite a back log of emails and constituents to see so please bear with me.
Enjoy the rest of the weekend,
As ever,
Anna

TRAFFIC
The honest truth is this; it’s going to be, at best, bad for at least the next 4-5 months. I was given various assurances that important junctions and lights are properly monitored and problems dealt with as quickly as possible. Please don’t shoot the messenger! What we can all do is keep NET informed of any problems especially if you do Twitter use the has tags @NETPhaseTwo and @MyNottingham.

Fencing
This is the stuff of madness! Many residents who have lost chunks of their garden to the tram along with their privacy and security want 3 metre high fencing. Jon Collins doesn’t have a problem with it but our very own Broxtowe Borough Council leader, Milan Ra dulovic does. He is adamant residents can only have 2.4 metres with a trellis on top. I have asked Milan to come and visit residents and see the problem for himself. I am hoping Milan, who is essentially a good man, will take up this offer and then agree to these perfectly reasonable requests.High and Chilwell Roads
I was assured the road will be open for business in July. Jon Collins has agreed to visit traders along with collegues from the County Council.

Lower and Fletcher Roads
Poor lighting and workers taking residents car parking spaces were just some of the problems almost fixed within hours of my raising them at the meeting

 

Trent Vale Sports Ground future dominates Rylands “drop in”

Thank you to everyone who attended last Saturday’s “drop in” surgery in Beeston Rylands.

The overwhelming majority of people came to discuss plans for up to 250 new homes in the area with 28 more on the Trent Vale Sports Ground. There wasn’t any objection in principle to the main site of housing but there was concern about how the existing roads would cope with the extra traffic.  However, there was considerable opposition to plans for a two storey Sports and Social Club on the Trent Vale Sports Ground.

I very much support improving sport facilities for the use of everyone in the Rylands. However, I am far from convinced that the former Plessey Social Club (which is a great place) should be moved down to that part of the Rylands.

At this stage it is important residents are properly consulted with. I have met the developers who struck me as reasonable people and my letter to them will reflect the variety of views I have received in the last week or so. My thanks to everyone who has contacted me so far.

 

Did I read that correctly?If you support and follow my campaign to protect our Green Belt from  housing development you may well have just asked that question. The answer is yes – over 270 houses in the pipe line on brown field land and no mention in Broxtowe’s contr oversial plans to allow thousands of houses on our Green Belt. As you might imagine I will be asking whether the plans in the Rylands (which I am told could see building start later this year) will mean a reduction in the houses Broxtowe’s wants to allow on Green Belt land at Stapleford and Toton …..

 

SMOKING IN CARS WITH CHILDREN
Unfortunately, my recent illness prevented me from voting in favour of banning smoking in cars where children are passengers; I was very pleased the vote was won. During my time as Public Health Minister I spoke in favour of new laws to standardise cigarette packaging and ban smoking in cars with children present. I am very pleased to see these important measures gaining support.
Saturday 1 March
Boogie Night at Rumbletums 
7.15pm – 9.30pm
Rumbletums, 2 Victoria Street, Kimberley
Disco for young people with learning disabilities, their family and friends.

Cost:  £3 including snacks.

Monday 3 March
Bramcote CAT Meeting 
7pm -8.30pm
Memorial Hall, Church Street, Bramcote  
Tuesday 4 March
Chilwell East CAT Meeting  
7pm – 8.30pm
College House Junior School
Wednesday 5 March
Charity Tea Dance In Beeston  
1.30pm – 4.30pm
Beeston Youth and Community Centre, NG9 1GL 
Please click here for more details.
Saturday 8 March
Drop-In Surgery – Kimberley  
10am til 12pm
Sainsbury’s Supermarket, Main Street, Kimberley, NG16  2LY

Your opportunity to meet with me to discuss any issues you may have.  I will be situated in the foyer.

WOW Ball – Charity Event
7pm til late!
The Village Hotel, Chilwell 

Leave a comment